2013 AIA Award Winners

With Rob off on holidays, I ventured out to the WA Chapter of the AIA last night to fulfil my duty to photography, architecture (and champagne) at Perth Concert Hall. My first ever AIA awards night gave me a sense of the full scale of projects happening across WA, as well as a great insight how the images we shoot are presented.

Public architecture had a total of seven awards. Bateman Architects, Christou Design Group, and Parry and Rosenthal all received commendations for Dongara District High School, Guildford Grammar Catalyst Building, and the All Saints Performing Arts Theatre respectively.


Guildford Grammar School, Architect: Christou Design Group

Dongara District High SchoolBateman Architects

All Saints College Centre for Performing Arts


Parry and Rosenthal’s PAC (above& below) and Taylor Robinson’s Merrywell (below) at Crown Casino both garnered Architecture Awards in the Interior category.


All Saints College Centre for Performing Arts

The Merrywell at Crown Perth, Taylor Robinson Architects

The Merrywell at Crown Perth,Taylor Robinson Architects


T&Z Architects received a commendation in the Colorbond Award in Steel Architecture for their steel and glass screen structure at ECU’s Joondalup campus.


Edith Cowan University rain screen T&Z Architects


Kerry Hill’s Campbell House took out the Marshall Clifton Award for Residential Architecture and two of the commendations were awarded to David Barr and Ross Brewin’s Suburban Beach House and Optimum Resource Architects’ Dress Circle Residence.


Beach Road house by David Barr and Ross Brewin

A Suburban Beach House, Architect: David Barr & Ross Brewin

Yallingup Residence Optimum Resource Architects


Jonathan Lake Architects won the Peter Overman Award for Residential Architecture -Alterations & Additions for their Fremantle Additions project and went on to take an Architecture Award in Small Project Architecture. Pendal and Neille received an Architecture Award in the Alternations & Additions category for their Claremont House.


Hampton Road House, Architect: Jonathan Lake Architects

Davies Road house. Pendal and Neille


The Harold Krantz Award for Multiple Residential went to Formworks Architecture for a project we’ve really enjoyed photographing; Lime Street development in East Perth.


Kevin Fleming St Bartholomew's  Formworks Architects

St Bartholomew’s  Lime St accommodation

St Bartholomew’s  Lime St accommodation


ARM Architecture & Cameron Chisholm Nicol ultimately took the night with the 2013 George Temple Pool Award for Perth Arena – four awards total, including the Jeffrey Howlett Award for Public Architecture, the Colorbond Award for Steel Architecture, and an Architecture Award in the Interior Category.

For a whole collection of pics of the Perth Arena, check out our April post. All and all, it was a delightful evening. You definitely can expect to see me there next year!